Clinical Governance

Current members of the clinical board are:

  • Kim Fry, Chair
  • Amanda van Elswijk, Clinical Nurse Manager,Assessment, Treatment & Rehabilitation
  • Carla Donson, Consumer representative
  • Dr Frank Rawlinson, Chief Medical Officer
  • Dr Gillian White, Consumer representative
  • Dr John McMenamin, Whanganui Regional Health Network Board member
  • Louise Allsopp, Manager Patient Safety & Quality
  • Megan Geertson, Pharmacy Manager
  • Midwifery advisor - vacant
  • Mr Mark Stegmann, Medical Director Obstetrics & Gynaecology
  • Rowena Kui, Director of Maori Health
  • Sandy Blake, Director of Nursing, Patient Safety & Quality
  • Senior Doctor position - vacant
  • Wendy Stanbrook-Mason, Nurse Manager Medical Services

The clinical board is supported by the WDHB clinical board secretary Deborah Mansor.

Our clinical governance structure is designed to enable the clinical board to maintain a strategic focus, work across all the DHB functions, not just the hospital, and to ensure all clinical governance activities are well co-ordinated and connected. Vital to the clinical governance arrangements are the service or topic-specific committees. It is in these committees and groups that the real work on continuing to improve patient safety and the quality of our services needs to take place.