Whanganui Health & Disability Quality Awards 2011

Whanganui’s August 18 Health & Disability Quality Awards were such a success, WDHB Chief Executive Julie Patterson has suggested the organising committee should consider holding the event annually.
Previously held as a Wanganui Hospital-only event, the awards were opened up this year to health and disability service providers across the Whanganui DHB region.
There were 23 entries across six award categories. The Supreme Award, chosen from the winners of each category, was awarded to ABC Alcohol, winner of the Excellence in Innovation and Development Award.
Keynote speaker Health and Disability Commissioner Anthony Hill addressed approximately 150 people who enjoyed a two-course dinner at the Wanganui Racecourse.
The key messages issued by Mr Hill were that health sector staff have a responsibility to not only strive for quality and excellence but to surpass their best efforts and always ensure their focus remains firmly centred on the patient.
Special presentations were made to 2011 AAPNZ Drake Administrative Professional of the Year finalist and WDHB staff member Margaret Bell, and WDHB Chief Executive Julie Patterson in recognition of her vision and leadership.  
Award categories & results
Te Oranganui Iwi Health Authority - Excellence in Innovation and Development
Winner:   ABC Alcohol
Entered by:   Dr John McMenamin and Chloe Newton
Whanganui UCOL - Excellence in Service Delivery Award
Winner:   Gonville Health and Gonville Centre Development
Entered by:   Judith MacDonald and Barb Cornor
Whanganui Regional Primary Health Organisation - Excellence in Quality Improvement Award
Winner:   Pressure Ulcer Prevention
Entered by:   Margaret Gosnell
Training For You - Excellence in Customer Service Award
Winner:   Suzanne Mottram
Nominated by:   Megan Geertson
Shirley O’Rourke Memorial Award for Quality
Winner:   Kathleen Kennedy
Nominated by:   Louise Allsop
The award for - Excellence in Integration and Collaboration was not awarded but a project entered by: Audrey Hynds, Carol Ramsden and Karen Goymour on Intermediate Care was highly commended
Supreme Award
Winner:   ABC Alcohol
Entered by:   Dr John McMenamin and Chloe Newton